Fallen Officers Memorial on Display at Courthouse Plaza

A bronze statue of an 1890s-era law officer meditating over a pair of empty cowboy boots honors 18 law officials who have died in Yavapai County in the line of duty from 1865 to present.

Created by renowned Prescott sculptor Bill Nebeker, the memorial was unveiled and dedicated in front of more than 500 people. They gathered on the north side of the Yavapai County Courthouse May 1.

The larger-than-life statue is in an enclosed triangle on the northwest quadrant of Courthouse Plaza near the bandstand gazebo.

The statue’s inscription: “Lest we forget.”

Retired Yavapai County Sheriff Scott Mascher was inspired several years ago to memorialize fallen officers on the plaza, so he and his colleagues generated a fund-raising campaign to help cover costs for the sculpture. All costs were covered through private contributions.

The somber ceremony began with posting of the colors, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance led by Yavapai County Board of Supervisors Chair Craig Brown. He was followed by Merry Nebeker, who sang the National Anthem. She is the sculptor’s wife.

Several speakers followed, including Mascher and then David Rhodes, the current Yavapai County Sheriff.

Names of the 18 fallen officers and the dates of their deaths were announced. They were: Cornelius Sage, 1865; George W. Leihy, 1866; George Spencer, 1877; Joseph A. Bryant, 1881; John M. Murphy, 1885; James G, Hawkins, 1891; Charles “Joe” Hawkins, 1902; Charles King, 1910; James Lowry, 1918; Edward F. Bowers, Jr., 1921; Charles Sherman Patterson, 1921; Jesse Hood, 1932; Dave Reese, 1933; James Franklin Roberts, 1934; Paul E. Marston, 1969; Kenneth Lindsley 1971; George E. McMurren, 1975; and Bruce W. Harrolle, 2008.

Nebeker said creating the memorial was “an extreme honor for me. The memorial is not about me or all of us. It is about those who have gone before us.”

One of Nebeker’s longtime Prescott colleagues, Rowle Simmons, now retired, said after the formal ceremony the statue will be a legacy reminding everyone to respect and honor law enforcement officials for their dedication, service and sacrifice.

The Executive Memorial Committee in a written statement thanked all of those involved for their involvement in creation of the memorial.

City Council Candidates Have Filed Papers

Following the April 5 deadline for candidates to file petitions to run for Prescott City offices, Prescott City Clerk Sarah Siep reported that two people filed for mayor and six for the three positions on the City Council.

The City of Prescott City Council consists of the mayor and six council members. All are elected at large. The mayor serves a two-year term, while council members serve overlapping four-year terms.

Incumbent Mayor Greg Mengarelli filed with 1,278 signatures, and City Councilman Phil Goode with 1,539 signatures.

Those filing for City Council positions included:

  • Steve Blair, 940 signatures
  • Jessica Hall, 1,253 signatures
  • Jim Lamerson, 905 signatures
  • Brandon Montoya, 1,101 signatures
  • Eric Moore, 1,357 signatures
  • Grant Quezada, 1,253 signatures

Candidates’ petitions and information are posted at www.prescott-az.gov/city-management/elections

The last day to register to vote is July 6. The primary election is Aug. 3; the general election is scheduled for Nov. 2.

Those wanting additional information about the election can direct questions to Siep at 928-777-1275 or to sarah.siep@prescott-az.gov